Highlights from the 2016 caucus. A mock Iowa caucus was held in the 5,000 square foot Bobcat Theatre at the Penny Arcade Expo, a gaming festival drawing tens of thousands.

The caucus event was titled, “Decision 2016: Vote on Game ‘War of Awards’ or Donald Trump,” organized by the National Academy of Video Game Trade Reviewers (NAVGTR) for the Official PAX panel schedule.

Presenters included Larry Asberry Jr., Vanessa Fernandez, Colby Sites, Justen Andrews, Geoff Mendicino, and George Wood.

A 450-seat room was packed with 332 caucus-goers.

Game players expressed who they thought should win the industry D.I.C.E. and Game Developers Choice Awards. The crowd established fan-favorite front-runners such as “The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt” for Achievement in Character (DICE), “Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain” for Game Design (GDC), “Undertale” for Innovation (GDC), and “Ori and the Blind Forest” developer Moon Studios for Best Debut (GDC).

In the final vote, “Fallout 4” won Game of the Year.

The National Academy of Video Game Trade Reviewers announces its own nominations February 9. Subscribe at navgtr.org for updates.

PAX South 2015

PAX East 2013